top of page

I DON’T WANT TO KEEP UP WITH THE JONESES


We dream about things we want and think when we arrive to that place we’ll be happy only to want more when we get there. We copy and paste things to our life from places where happiness is to others. Never really knowing if we actually want it or just because someone else has it. We glue it to our lives and make it fit in our picture because it looked good somewhere else. I mean do we all want an iPhone 7? I mean, like the whole damn world just happens to want an iPhone 7? Every single person? OR was your i6 working just fine but you needed to keep up?

I don’t want to keep up! Why can’t I just keep my I6? Why did I replace a perfectly good phone? I mean I’ll admit, phones are our life now and factoring in a better camera, more storage, and new and improved features … I get it. It feels like you need it. But do I?

Everything is so easily accessible and easily replaced. Not just things, even people. I mean on any given Friday it goes down in the DM’s. People who I thought had girlfriends, people who have their children or wives displayed in their profile pic. People who I’ve dumped before and even ones who’ve dumped me. Strangers who say the same thing I’ve heard a million times and ones that get real creative. They all come creeping in through a private message. Because its easy and the rejection is silent. Cushioning the blow by the fact that if I don't respond, someone else is just a DM away. We're all just one to the next thing.

Maybe they love me cause I’m so irresistible. Surly my pictures of my granny and my chickens just REALLY does something for them. Or has contentment gone to the way side? Does everyone just wanna have a back up plan? Incase something might be better than what they currently have. Does everything just look greener on the other side. Perhaps the idea of who they think I am could possibly be more appealing online than that of reality.

Do you actually really want a farm or because you seen mine, it looks fun so now you do. Cause in reality yesterday I was covered in chicken crap, a hawk ate my favorite dog, and my other dog ate my favorite chicken. The neighbors dog killed my baby lamb, the other lamb hung itself, the hurricane flood damaged my yard….......That one pic I posted was cute though. ha

Its so easy for us all to want what everyone else has. Social media has made that possible. You can give as little or as much of yourself as you want. You can add or subtract attributes about yourself to appease the masses. I can post a photo of food, my dog, or my family. No one cares. Why? ‘Cause just about everyone has that. BUT should I post a pic with a celebrity or flying on a private jet, NOW I’ve got your attention. Cause now its important. We train each other to be self-centered and arrogant. We support one another in flaunting what we have and trying to out doing one another. Building a life around what others will like before whats most important.

Their ain’t a girl I know that washes her hair everyday and sleeps in makeup. Ain’t a girl I know that doesn't love her some yoga pants and no bra. Ain’t a girl I know that doesn’t like to hang out with a best friend in all her true entirety. But we got to document everything. We gotta show errbody what we be doin. Cause if we are having fun, other people need to know and be jealous. But we all know good and damn well you would be having more fun without the documentary and the need to keep up the image.

Wouldn't it be fun to just sing a song to the top of your lungs with your bestie in the car cause its yawls fav. Without the distraction of videoing yourself to show everyone how much cooler you and your bestie are.

Something real is what I long for. Competing or comparing is time consuming and exhausting. I’ve been brained washed with the rest of us. I'm guilty as charged. But I don’t wanna keep up no mo. So next time I post the 100th photo of my dog, if it annoys you, please kindly push unfollow. I'm fresh out of photoshopped selfies and witty captions.

© 2023 by Salt & Pepper. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page